PHP Code Formatting with sed

When I first started the Winning Side Ministries I had one code style…now I prefer another. It happens, right? It shouldn’t be that big of a deal; there are plenty of free tools available that will iterate through source code files and alter the formatting for you. What I’ve found in the last few days though is that not many of them really work all that well.

Our website is written in PHP so naturally I began looking for a solution that was tailored specifically to that language. There are only a few of them and I really couldn’t get any of them working in a satisfactory way. At that point I began looking at more generic solutions like GNU indent which is actually targeted at C but works OK with other languages that use C-style syntax. After a bit of toying around I got indent to make the changes I wanted it to make but it was also making other changes that I didn’t want it to make.

That’s when I realized…there were really only 2 formatting styles I wanted to change. Why not just fix it with some sort of regex substitution program? Enter sed (StreamEDitor). It’s really a nifty little program that does one thing really well (per the Unix philosophy) and that is take the text it’s given and perform the requested modifications. Now it’s really meant as a line based editor and some of my changes required multi-line substitution but it wasn’t really that hard to work around after googling for a bit.

Here’s the code style I wanted to convert from:

function myFunc($arg)
{
    print("some stuff");
    if($arg == 2)
    {
        print("Arg is 2!");
    }
}




function myFunc2()
{
    print("I'm func 2!");
}

And here’s the style I wanted to convert to:

function myFunc($arg) {
    print("some stuff");
    if($arg == 2) {
        print("Arg is 2!");
    }
}

function myFunc2() {
    print("I'm func 2!");
}

So we’re going from having 4 blank lines between functions to only 1, and going from having opening braces on a separate line to having them on the same line preceded by a space. Here’s the sed script I came up with:

# this line reads the whole file in so we can do multiline substitution
:a;N;$!ba;

# this gets rid of our 5 line breaks between functions
s/\n\n\n\n\n/\n\n/g

# this puts curly braces on the same line with the control structures/function definitions to which they belong
# be aware that if there is a set of lines like this:
#
# if(myTest) //here's some documentation
# {
#     next line of code
# ...
#
# the curly brace will end up in the end of the comment; watch out for that
s/\n[ ]*{/ {/g

That first line…I copied and pasted that from this answer to this stackoverflow question. I don’t know sed well enough to really explain it, but there’s some explanation in the answer comments there so check it out if you want to know more.  The basic idea is that sed can’t work with multiple newlines at once without a workaround since it expects to act upon every line individually.  The tr solution also proposed on that same question won’t work for me since tr works character by character and doesn’t support full regex’s as a result.

I did run into the problem described in the script’s comment, but only once. It wasn’t worth complicating the script to fix that though it may not be difficult. I don’t know…I didn’t bother.

To run the script you just call sed like so:

sed -i -f format_code.sed *.php

And you’re done! The “-i” makes it edit the files in place so you don’t have to do any kind of weird redirection or write a script around it. It just works.

2 Responses to PHP Code Formatting with sed

  1. I too moved to the same-line-open-brace style of programming. I also find I generally prefer two-space indentation rather than four.

    I find it interesting that as I grew as a programmer, I like things more condensed… not messy or busy, but just compact.

    • Lytithwyn says:

      This new style used to feel cramped to me years ago but I guess it’s like you said; we have more experience now and we’ve learned to appreciate conciseness.

Leave a Reply

